## Honours and Awards Received by

## Professor P. T. Manoharan

## **Awards**

- INSA Rangadhama Rao Lecture award (1987)
- S. R. Palit Memorial Award in Physical Chemistry by IACS (1989)
- FICCI Award in the field of Physical Sciences including Mathematics (1989)
- Morris Travers Lecture Award, IISc (1995)
- K.S.G. Doss Memorial Lecture, CECRI (1995)
- Sadhan Basu Memorial Award, INSA (1996)
- Professor Govindarajulu Endowment Lecture Award, University of Madras (2003)
- Professor Baliah Endowment Lecture, Annamalai University (2004)
- Mahatma Gandhi University Decennium Commemoration Lecture Award and Medal (2005)
- Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding service and promoter of EPR spectroscopy by the <u>International EPR society (2005)</u>
- CRSI Gold Medal

## Positions & Memberships

- Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras (1997-99)
- Research Council Chairman, CSIR-RRL, Thiruvananthapuram
- Scientific Secretary of INSA (1997-1999)
- Raman Chair Professor at IGNOU New Delhi (2009-2012)
- Vice President and Treasurer, Chemical Research Society of India
- Founder of Green Canopy, an environmental organization at IIT Madras
- Institute emeritus professor, CSIR, emeritus scientist, and DST Ramanna Fellow at IIT, Madras, and INSA Senior Scientist
- Honorary professor at JNCASR, Bangalore
- Fellow of INSA (New Delhi)
- Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences (Bengaluru)
- Fellow of Third World Academy of Sciences (Trieste, Italy)
- Fellow of World Innovation Foundation
- Member of advisory and executive boards and committees of DST, CSIR and UGC, IACS, IISc and JNCASR
- Editorial board member of Proceedings of the Indian Academy of Sciences (Chemical Sciences, 1980-89)
- Editorial board member of Indian Journal of Chemistry (1985-89)